Sign in to follow this  
Strongbushido

Beginner Still Or Intermediate

Just would like some advice please,

Just sighed up on here and after reading some of the other question and answers I can see there are some real experienced and knowledgeable lifters on here who can help put my mind to rest.

My current lifts are

Squats are 115kg, 253lbs for 3 sets of 5. 

Deadlifts 341lbs 2 sets of 3

Bench Press 176lbs 3 sets of 5

Press 135lbs for 3 sets of 5

Recently ive been over thinking my training abit and feel like I am suffering some sort of analysis of paralysis. My Squat and Bench have been stuck on the lifts above for about 6 months now. My deadlift and Press are fine and I always seem to make progress on them by just training these lifts once a week

I am still abit unsure if im a beginner lifter still or am I a  intermediate lifter??. Ive tried squatting heavy 2-3 times aweek but the weight 253lbs stays the same or eventually the reps and weight will drop down (ive got to 264lbs a few times but never past that) I have tried squatting 1 time a week but I always feel weaker??. Should I be adding a second day of maybe lighter Squats, like some sort of pause squats or volume work?.  Also same for my Bench Press?. Performing only 3 sets of bench press 1 time a week is obviously not working for me if a week later I dont feel any stronger?.

Sorry for long winded ques. But really need some good advice on this pls.

Cheers guys 

Lee

If you're stuck at the same weight after all that time, I'd say you're transitioning into intermediate territory.

Whether to switch to an intermediate program from a novice one should be based on how well you can recover from the high volume of novice programming.  If you're exhausted to start your next session and can't put in your normal effort, then it's time to make reductions somewhere, whether it be in volume or frequency.  Make sure outside factors are also on point, such as diet, rest, and sleep.