Sign in to follow this  
Robernaut

Not Becoming A Supple Leopard

A review of, "Becoming a Supple Leopard", by Kelly Starlet.

"This was one of the best examples of fear mongering and bad science that I have read. He is literally taking your hand and walking you back to the dark ages of physical therapy of the 1950’s, when we used to believe pain comes from joint, tissues, bad posture and movement."

The Author's Credentials

I have a Master’s in Exercise Physiology from Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, and another Master’s in Human Performance from University of Florida Gainesville. I am also an American Council of Exercise (ACE) certified personal trainer and NSCA Certifiied Strength & Conditioning Coach, executive committee member of NSCA PT, and also the NSCA Personal Trainer forum moderator.

Credit to Armi Legge of Impruvism for this contribution:

Improvements in hip flexibility do not transfer to mobility in functional movement patterns

What a stupid review. In many instance I get the feeling his trying to refer to how Starretts instructions would work for all situations, few examples:

... If that’s the case, I would love to see what the blade runner (the double amputee, or any other amputees playing sports) has to say about his career.

I wouldn’t be bothered much if this was like another training method to make you bigger, faster, or stronger.

When he seems to have a small grasp at the people the book is directed to which I think is for athletes wanting to improve their performance and getting stronger and faster. He also seems to like the book. 

The majority of the stuff is nothing new and most lifters know this. He just lays it out in an organized manner which I like.

and the whole review is based on the false interpretation of what Starrett said: