Sign in to follow this  
NarN

Team Sport Mental Aspect

I'm a beginning coach (started end September) of a local volleyball team.

I have played for 25+ years myself so I got a good understanding of the technical and tactical components.

But I lack knowledge or 'feeling' when it comes to mental coaching.

I wasn't a leader when I was a player and I'm currently not a strong motivator as a coach.

Yesterday we had a game. The first two sets we lost but the team was working and putting in great effort. The final set it all went downhill very fast. It was terrible. Players where agitated and argued with each other and with the referee. I had to take 2 time-outs to let them cool down.

In a way I felt completely helpless/clueless. I think it's due to my personality (not a great chatter) and my lack of experience.

I realize it takes time to build experience but I want to speed up the process as much as possible. I feel this is the issue I need to work on as a coach.

Can you guys share personal experiences or give pointers to resources where I can educate myself?

Any help much appreciated!

You have to give yourself time to understand what kind of coach you are. It might also help to try and understand your team better, if you don't know who your coaching it's very hard to react correctly when things go wrong.

Had a football coach punch a hole in a chalkboard at halftime and threatened to do the same to us if we didn't win.

It worked.... but don't do that, you'll break your hand and now-a-days probably go to jail! But back then (late '80s) times were different. He ended up being promoted to athletic director. Go figure.