• First Name:Marcio
  • LocationIndiana
  • Height:6'1''
  • Body Weight:172 (9.2%BF)
  • Squat PR:215
  • Press PR:bench 215 (1RM)
  • Deadlift PR:365 (1RM)

Posted 28 November 2011 - 05:26 AM

Hey guys, I currently work out at my university gym and since I graduated my membership will expire in 2012. Anyway the best next gym is $100 a month... For that much I would rather begin to build a home setup, figure it will run me about ~$1000 with a platform, cage, bar, and bumper plates...

For the platform I was thinking of copying this...

http://forum.bodybui...23382101&page=1

any thoughts? experience?

#2 Adamr

Adamr

Heavy Lifter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,222 posts
  • First Name:Adam
  • LocationBrisbane
  • Height:1.85
  • Body Weight:125

Posted 28 November 2011 - 07:16 PM

Nice timing. Oddly enough I am building one very similar tonight when I get home from work. My measurements are all in metric of course. I've got 4 sheets of 2400x1200x15mm ply which I will lay two beside each other to make a 2400x2400 square and then glue the other two the other way to bind them and create a 30mm platform. From there I will glue my centre piece which is a 2400mmx1200mmx18mm piece of marine ply which should look the goods once it is varnished up. For the drop zone I found some 600x600x12.5mm fatigue rubber squares. Finding the rubber was easily the hardest part. i suggest you model the design around what rubber you can get. This is the make or break in my opinion! So four of these fit the 2400x600mm side runs perfectly. All that is needed is some ply to put under them to raise them to the 18mm height of the centre piece. The piece I got is 7mm so the mats will be 19.5mm high and the centre piece will be 18mm. Hopefully not too much of a noticieably difference. Once I'm done I'll post an entry with pictures and how my plan went. In the end my platform will be a 2400mm square with a 1200mm centre zone and two 600mm drop zones.

#3 MarcioTheGreat

MarcioTheGreat

Lifter