• First Name:Adam
  • LocationCambridge, Ontario
  • Height:5'10"
  • Body Weight:245lbs
  • Squat PR:550 BS, 405 FS
  • Press PR:385 BP (380 paused), 275 OHP
  • Deadlift PR:601

Posted 26 February 2012 - 08:24 AM

A few weeks ago, idle and I got to talking about what we thought were the important aspects of a good novice program. After hammering it out for a while, we came up with a template that I think would have really appealed to me when I started lifting, while still satisfying all of the important criteria that a quality program demands.

Posted Image

Let me be the first to say that no, the ideas behind this template are of course nothing revolutionary. It is based on proven principles that are used in lots of popular novice programs. The ideas behind a lot of these programs are the same because they work, plain and simple. Nobody is reinventing the wheel here. This template in particular is based on two key concepts:

1. Simplicity. The program revolves around a small number of compound lifts and uses a very simple and consistent pattern. Each day involves a lower body barbell movement, an upper body barbell movement and an upper body bodyweight movement for assistance. You don't need to write your workout down on a pad of paper before you hit the gym, it doesn't get much simpler than this.

2. Efficiency. Each workout is designed to be short and to the point. You only have 2 main movements to worry about that involve spending time warming up and loading plates, and one accessory movement that can be performed very quickly with no additional warmup and minimal use of equipment. It is very unlikely that you would ever be in the gym for more than an hour, even when working up to fairly heavy work sets.

Rationalizing the Template

Once we had settled on these two cornerstone values of the program, we needed to iron out the minutia and really determine what we believed would be the best way to lay out the lifts.